In News

IHSTS welcomes new board executive and directors

The Institute for Health System Transformation and Sustainability is pleased to announce the appointment of George Abbott as Chair of its Board of Directors at IHSTS’s Annual General Meeting on December 12, 2016.

Mr. Abbott has enjoyed a long and distinguished career in politics and public service, holding many portfolios in the BC provincial government, including Education and Health. Prior to his election to the Legislature, Mr. Abbott was a Sessional Lecturer in Political Science at Okanagan University College. He is currently a doctoral candidate in Political Science at the University of Victoria.

Mr. Abbott succeeds founding IHSTS Chair Dr. Simon Sutcliffe, who had led the board since 2009. We would like to acknowledge Dr. Sutcliffe’s expert stewardship through the Institute’s formative years and thank him for his valuable contributions to BC’s health care system through his governance role.

Also appointed to IHSTS board leadership positions are:

  • Dr. Arun Garg, Vice-Chair
  • Dr. Anthony Boardman, Treasurer
  • Mr. Jan Grude, Secretary

Four new members have been appointed to the IHSTS Board of Directors. They are:

  • Mr. Bob de Faye
  • Ms. Barb Hambly
  • Dr. Mark Schonfeld
  • Dr. Robert F. Woollard

Board member biographies are available on the IHSTS Leadership web page.

In addition to Dr. Simon Sutcliffe, two members have stepped down from the IHSTS board: Dr. Bernie Bressler and Mr. Gordon Macatee. We thank them for their service and leadership.

The Institute for Health System Transformation and Sustainability (IHSTS) gathers, develops and shares evidence about British Columbia’s health care system to inform decisions that impact health care quality, cost and sustainability.